Current Port Affairs: August 15, 2020

 1. What is the name of the largest ever container vessel to berth at any Nigerian ports?

[A] Maersk A.P Moller
[B] Maersk Bernard Schepers
[C] Maersk Stadelhorn
[D] CMA CGM Ganges

Correct Answer: C [Maersk Stadelhorn] ✓

Notes: The vessel MAERSK STADELHORN (IMO: 9726671, MMSI 563001700) is a Container Ship built in 2015 (6 years old).

2. Which of the Nigerian ports did the vessel berth?

[A] Onne Port
[B] Tin Can Island Port
[C] Calabar Port
[D] Apapa Port

Correct Answer: A [Onne Port] ✓

Notes:The vessel berthed at the Federal Ocean Terminal (FOT) Onne in Rivers State at exactly 1620 hours on Saturday, August 15, 2020.

3. Which country did the vessel arrived from to Nigeria?

[A] China
[B] India
[C] United States of America
[D] Cotonou, Benin Republic

Correct Answer: D [Cotonou, Benin Republic] ✓

Notes:The NPA reported that the successful berthing is as a result of five-day preparations for the arrival of the vessel from Cotonou, Benin Republic.

4. What is the name of Port Manager that received the vessel?

[A] Ms. Hadiza Bala-Usman
[B] Alhassan Abubakar
[C] Uduiguomen Eboreime
[D] Kikelomo Cudjoe

Correct Answer: B [Alhassan Abubakar] ✓

Notes:He is a graduate of Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria. He had held several positions since joining NPA. He had served in different capacities. Namely as the Principal Manager Operations, Eastern Ports Headquarters, Port Harcourt; Principal Manager Traffic, Calabar Port before his current posting as Port Manager Onne Port Complex.

5. What is the capacity of the vessel?

[A] 9,981 TEUs
[B] 9,961 TEUs
[C] 9,971 TEUs
[D] 9,991 TEUs

Correct Answer: B [9,971 TEUs] ✓

Notes: The Maerskline Stardelhorn vessel built in 2015 boasts of an overall length of 300 metres and 48 metres in width and has a capacity of 9,971 Twenty-foot Equivalent Unit (TEUs).

Staff Writer

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Next Post

Full List of Nigeria Ministers, their Portfolios and States 2019-2023

Sat Aug 21 , 2021
President Muhammadu Buhari on Wednesday, August 21, 2019 inaugurated 43 ministers into the Federal Executive Council (FEC) for his second term administration. The president presided over the inauguration ceremony that took place at the State House, Abuja. President for the second time reappointed himself as the Petroleum Minister. See below […]

You May Like